About


Our Mission is to cultivate and nurture the social, physical, spiritual, and academic growth of all students by utilizing the rich local culture, language, and community/family partnerships so that students can be healthy contributing members of society.

The Yukon Flats school district is spread across the vast northeastern region of Alaska known as the Yukon Flats. The northernmost community, Arctic Village, sits at the base of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge in the foothills of the Brooks Range. Our other communities are either along the Yukon River or navigable tributaries of the Yukon.

Our Schools


Arctic Village School
PO Box 22049
305 Mountain Street
Arctic Village, AK 99722
Phone: 907-587-5211
Fax: 907-587-5210
Principal/Teacher: Mark Green
mark.green@yfsd.org

John Fredson School
PO Box 81089
89 Main Street
Venetie, AK 99781
Phone: 907-849-8415
Fax: 907-849-8630
Principal/Teacher: Robert Pymn
robert.pymn@yfsd.org

Cruikshank School
PO Box 24050
310 River Road
Beaver, AK 99724
Phone: 907-628-6313
Fax: 907-628-6615
Principal/Teacher: Linda Wright
linda.wright@yfsd.org

Fort Yukon School
PO Box 129
255 Main Street
Fort Yukon, AK 99740
Phone: 907-662-2352
Fax: 907-662-2958
Principal: Steven Porter
steven.porter@yfsd.org

Tsuk Taih School
General Delivery
#1 Marten Hill Drive
Chalkyitsik, AK 99788
Phone: 907-848-8113
Fax: 907-848-8312
Principal/Teacher: Tim Myers
timothy.myers@yfsd.org

Circle School
PO Box 49
330 Yukon Drive
Circle, AK 99733
Phone: 907-773-1250
Fax: 907-773-1259
Principal/Teacher: Mary Groat
mary.groat@yfsd.org

A map of Alaska showing the villages of YFSD.

Our School Board


Laurie Thomas, President
laurie.thomas@yukon.net
Birch Creek, Fort Yukon
Section and Seat: II-E
Term Expires: 10/19

Margorie Gemmill
margorie.gemmill@yfsd.org
Arctic Village, Beaver, Venetie 
Section and Seat: I-A 
Term Expires: 10/19

Melinda Peter
melindalouise.peter@yfsd.org
Birch Creek, Fort Yukon
Section and Seat: II-D
Term Expires: 10/21

Woodie W. Salmon
woodie.salmon@yfsd.org
Central, Chalkyitsik, Circle, Livengood, Rampart, Stevens Village
Section and Seat: III-G
Term Expires: 10/20

David Bridges, Vice President
david.bridges@yfsd.org
Birch Creek, Fort Yukon
Section and Seat: II-C 
Term Expires: 10/20

Eugenia Grammer
eugenia.grammer@yfsd.org 
Arctic Village, Beaver, Venetie 
Section and Seat: I-B 
Term Expires: 10/21

Tonya L. Carroll
tonyafields.carroll@yfsd.org
Central, Chalkyitsik, Circle, Livengood, Rampart, Stevens Village
Section and Seat: III-F
Term Expires: 10/21

Board Minutes

District Office

Call Us: (907) 662-2515

Lance Bowie
Superintendent

lance.bowie@yfsd.org (Ext. #24)

Susan McCullough
Curriculum and Instruction
susan.mccullough@yfsd.org (Ext. #26)

Micala Peter
Maintenance Clerk
micala.peter@yfsd.org (Ext. #34)

Nancy Shewfelt
Budget and Finance
nancy.shewfelt@yfsd.org (Ext. #32)

Mary Beth Solomon
Executive Secretary
marybeth.solomon@yfsd.org

Tony Peter
Maintenance Director

tony.peter@yfsd.org (Ext. #25)

Daphne Fields
Accounts Payable

daphne.fields@yfsd.org (Ext. #35)

Rocky James
Food Service

rocky.james@yfsd.org (Ext. #33)

Gale Pratt
Special Education
gale.pratt@yfsd.org (Ext. #29)

Ruby Thomas
Payroll

ruby.thomas@yfsd.org (Ext. #31)

Les McCormick
Counselor and Testing

jocelyn.niedziela@yfsd.org (Ext. #28)

Helen Cheek
Grants Writer

helen.cheek@yfsd.org (Ext. #27)


Yukon Flats School District

PO Box 350
Fort Yukon, AK 99740
(907) 662-2515 (phone)
(907) 662-3094 (fax)
Website built with support from SERRC TechOps